查詢
+852 2791 9330
如何空運寵物?

移民到新的國家,如何空運寵物?日常帶著寵物乘車已讓人感到很大壓力,何況坐飛機…..感覺就像一場噩夢。然而,您沒有其他選擇,因為拋棄心愛的寵物肯定是不可接受的。

現時,大多數航空公司都允許乘客攜帶寵物。 對寵物主人來說這是個好消息。 然而,寵物不是人,因此飛行經歷也不同。即使有能力購買頭等機票,牠們也無法進入。

在家中,牠們可能是王子和公主般生活,但在飛機上,牠們通常分為兩類:隨身行李(客艙)或貨物。 我們以下將詳細介紹兩類。 請記住,每間航空公司都是不同的,因此可能會有不同的要求。 但是,在大多數情況下,一般概念是相同的。

 

01_how_pets_fly

 

隨身行李(客艙)

首先,您要弄清楚寵物是否能夠放在飛機座椅下。 所以這個方式僅適用於小型寵物。如果您的狗隻體型較大,就需要進入貨艙。

大多數航空公司都允許旅客攜帶小型寵物,牠們被裝入寵物籠然後放在前方座位下。 大小和重量限制因航空公司而異,但大多數規定您的寵物和寵物籠的重量總和不得超過20磅。 另一個要求是,籠子必須適合您前方的空間。

另一重點是,寵物品種和年齡都會有一些限制。 許多航空公司不允許攜帶小於8周的幼犬上機。 此外,一些航空公司是不允許短鼻犬登機,因為呼吸系統疾病的風險比較高。 但是,有時短鼻狗只被限制不得放在貨艙內,但可以放在客艙。 因此,請務必與相關航空公司確認這些要求。

 

貨艙

大多數航空公司在全年時間都允許旅客運送寵物。 每間航空公司的貨艙規格可能會有所不同,但是機師可以根據「負載」的類型及任何可能對溫度敏感的物品(例如您心愛的毛茸茸寵物)來調節溫度。 但是,對於極端炎熱和寒冷的天氣,通常會有一些限制。 這是因為就算貨艙溫度可以控制,但航運大樓的其他部分的溫度可能控制不到。

雖然很多人認為,寵物放在飛機的行李艙是沒有限制。 您的寵物會安全地放入貨物區域,但其實寵物籠和其他行李箱是放在分開的單獨區域。 行李搬運人員通常將寵物籠捆紮在適當的位置,並通常用穿孔的氣墊卷包著籠子。寵物籠是最後才被放上飛機,然後會首先取出來。

雖然將寵物當作貨物是一個令人恐懼的想法,但實際上並沒有您想像的那麼恐怖。 為了讓寵物適應,儘快將牠們放入寵物籠/箱,確保它們有足夠的水(水非常重要),並把牠們心愛的玩具和毯子舖墊箱子,讓它們感到舒適。

 

其他需要考慮的元素

有時,航空公司會限制每次攜帶寵物進入飛機的數量。 這就是為什麼要提前預訂和支付寵物機票的重要的原因。

另一重點是,購買寵物籠時要確保您寵物籠的空間能夠為您的寵物提供最大的舒適度,同時也要遵守航空公司的規定。 寵物籠有許多不同的類型,您可以先比較哪一種類型最適合您的毛孩。

最後,請坐下來,放鬆一下,享受旅程。 請放心,處理您這個「貴重貨物」的航空公司員工都經過嚴格的訓練,他們通常是愛護動物的人,他們非常重視您的寵物安全。

Get in touch
+852 2791 9330
How do pets fly on an airplane?

Moving to a new country and wondering about the process involved in having your furry friend fly with you? Driving with a pet in the car can be stressful enough. So the thought of your pet boarding an aircraft might sound like a nightmare. But, of course, often you don’t have much of a choice because the thought of leaving a beloved four-legged friend behind is not even an option.

These days, most commercial airlines allow passengers to fly with their pets. This is great news for all the fur-baby parents out there who are moving counties, and naturally, taking their pets with them. However, pets aren’t people, and therefore they have a very different flying experience. Even if your sassy little cat were capable of appreciating the amenities of a first-class ticket, they wouldn’t be eligible.

They may be treated like royalty in your home, but onboard an aircraft there are typically two categories that they will fall into: Carry-on baggage (cabin) or cargo. Below we will take a closer look at each of these options. Keep in mind that every airline is different and may have different requirements. But, for the most part, the general concept will be the same.

01_how_pets_fly

 

Carry-on Baggage (Cabin)

Firstly, you will need to figure out if your pet is small enough to fit under an airplane seat. Unfortunately, this option is only available for small pets. So if you have a large dog, they will need to fly in cargo luggage.

Most airlines allow passengers to travel with small pets tucked away inside a carrier, and under the seat in front of them. Size and weight restrictions vary between airlines, but most stipulate that together your pet and carrier should not exceed 20 pounds in weight. The other requirement is that the carrier fits under the space in front of you.

It’s also important to note that there are some restrictions in place regarding breed and age. Many airlines don’t allow puppies that are younger than eight weeks to fly in-cabin. In addition, some airlines don’t allow short-nosed dogs to fly because of the increased risk of respiratory problems. However, sometimes short-nosed dogs are only restricted from flying in-cargo, but can fly in-cabin. So it’s important to check these requirements with the relevant airline.

 

Cargo

Most airlines allow passengers to ship their pets as cargo year-round in climate controlled sections. Cargo hold specifications may vary between airlines, but pilots are able to change the temperature according to the type of “load” and any items that may be sensitive to temperature, like your beloved furry-friend. However, there are often restrictions in place for extreme hot and cold weather conditions. This is because even though the cargo section may be temperature-controlled, other parts of the terminal might not be.

Despite what many people think, pets are not confined with luggage in a dingy dark hole at the bottom of a plane. Your pet will be securely loaded into the cargo area, but their crate will be placed in a separate area, away from the rest of the luggage. Baggage handlers often strap animal crates in place and typically wrap them with perforated air cushion rolls. Also, they get loaded onto the plane last and come off first.

While storing your pet in cargo may be a terrifying thought, it’s really not as bad as you imagine. Some great ways to prepare your fur-baby for the experience is by introducing them to the cargo crate as soon as possible, ensure that they are hydrated (water is very important), and fill the crate with toys and blankets to make them feel comfortable.

 

Other things to consider

Sometimes airlines restrict the number of pets that they allow onto an aircraft at any one time. This is why it’s very important to book and pay for your pets ticket as far in advance as possible.

It’s also important to go carrier shopping and ensure that you get a carrier that will offer your pet the most comfort, but also complies with airlines rules. There are many different types around so you can shop around to see which one will work best for you.

Lastly, sit back, relax, and enjoy the flight. Remember that airline employees who handle your precious cargo are highly trained and they are often animal-lovers who take your pets safety very seriously.